Day 1: Why “My 1335 Journey”?

So I’m single. And I could tell you a whole long story about my life that led to here, but let’s just do the brief version of this and save getting to know each other for a later time in life. Let’s just wrap up the past 6900 days of my life with this: I’ve found myself here. A place that I don’t like, but a place I don’t really have a choice about. So I prayed,

Lord, is this what you want for us? What should I do?

In Sunday’s sermon my pastor talked about prayer. Perfect timing, right? But WAIT- it gets better. My pastor said that the Lord answers prayers in four different ways.

  1.  Yes. The Lord fulfills the prayer you ask for and he answers the prayer with confirmation.
  2. No. The Lord denies the request you ask for and he answers with what you need and not what you want.
  3. Yes- abundantly above what you can ask.
  4. Wait. Sometimes the Lord answers your request by taking what you want and desire and giving that to you with so much more than you could ever fathom asking.

And of course I didn’t get the first three. I didn’t get an immediate fix for my relationship, He didn’t answer in overabundance, and he didn’t say flat out no. His response was the dreaded number four. WAIT.

Not yes or no. Not even a genuine maybe. Just wait.

It’s the Lord’s way of saying “I have something for you  but you are not ready to know what that is- . I need you to wait and trust me. Do you trust me with this? Are you willing to follow me until I show you what to do?” And I felt an immediate peace. The Lord reminded me of a verse that sticks to the back corners of my mind. Something about being strong and waiting for the Lord. I pulled up my Bible app and I typed in a quick reference search for the word “Wait” so I could find the reference. And what I found changed everything. ”12 The one who waits for and reaches 1,335 days is blessed. 13 But as for you, go on your way to the end; you will rest, then rise to your destiny at the end of the days.”                                                -Daniel 12:12-13 1, 335 days. That’s a really long time. Like, 3 ½ years. Immediately the seed was planted and so was born “My 1335 Journey”.

February 24, 2015 – October 21, 2018

Yeah. That’s a lot of time. A lot of time. But currently I don’t have anything but time and it is what the Lord keeps giving me. This is me actively putting it to good use. Three and a half years of consciously seeking the Lord. Seeking the Lord and the destiny he has for me. It is time to start fighting and start seeking all that God has for me. In the last few months I’ve had someone who pushed me to deepen my relationship with Christ and stop eating the scraps off of other’s spiritual plates. It was a hard lesson to learn, but I needed him to be actively and consciously pushing me to get off my butt and on my feet with the Lord. I am taking steps and I am starting to run. And so I start training while I am waiting.

Day 1 down, 1334 to go.

Let’s hurry up and wait.

-B

Ps- This was the verse I was looking for. “Wait for the Lord; be strong and courageous. Wait for the Lord.” Psalm 27:14

Leave a Reply

