Day 241: He Held Me

Today I found myself sitting on the 8th pew of a funeral home chapel. A brief hour of my day was spent hearing about a woman who had a sweet impact on many lives, and had been responsible for building a family that led to the offspring of my sweet friend. I personally never met this sweet soul, but sitting in the little chapel with all of the people who knew and loved her made her feel so real. I could feel the love she shared over her life.

This week has had a heavy focus on death. Death is a part of life- its the final scene of a person’s life and the closing chapter of a person’s life story. Death comes quickly for some and slowly for others. We can know its coming and still not know how to handle it when it gets here. All the time and preparation in the world can’t help us be ready. Death is a part of living.

“Death is the end of a life, but not the end of a relationship.” Tuesdays with Morrie, page 174.

Presently, I am enrolled in a course that covers the death and dying process. We cover it from all sides of the experience from the dying person, family, hospitals/hospice, and funeral homes. We see the full scope of dying and death in the course of a semester. This class has helped me see it all in a new way.

The love shared between that sweet soul and the people in that room will continue to be there. Her memories will be there. Her life has ended, but what she shared with them is carried on forever. Other lives will be influenced by the influence she had on the people she loved. That’s beautiful. That’s life. To realize we give life to other people that we will never meet. To realize even greater that Jesus gives us the life that reunites us with those we love and those we influenced by our loved ones. It is all so beautiful.

“Beauty is pain” they always say. So yes, this is beautiful, but this is also incredibly painful to know and see. To realize that those that die have given us a gift of life to share with others. That Jesus gave us life so we can be reunited with those people. Sometimes it is hard because we don’t want those people later because we need them now.

I didn’t know the woman personally, but I sat there and cried on the 8th pew of a chapel. Thankfully this song was chosen so appropriately for her funeral.

It’s been one of those days
If anything could go wrong it went wrong
I know I’m feeling sorry for me
There’s a lot of self-pity going on
Tomorrow I will be okay
The dawn will bring a brand new day
I’m sure by then I’ll be fine
Lord, today I really need a friend
I know that you would understand
Would you hold me while I cry?

I take a lot of your time
When I should be strong
I should be standing by now
When it’s you I’m leaning on
You’ve always kept me safe from harm,
Like a child in your arms
You’ve cradled me through hardships faced in life
Lord, it’s just one of those days
I’ve been fought in every way
Will you hold me while I cry?

I try to be strong but if anyone can fall apart,
I fall apart
I run back to you again,
And you heal my broken heart
You have truly been a friend,
Reaching out to lend a hand,
Lord, when you could have passed me by
I’m asking for your strength today
Lift my spirit, Lord, I pray
Will you just hold me while I cry

I take a lot of your time
When I should be strong
I should be standing by now
When it’s you I’m leaning on
You’ve always kept me safe from harm
Like a child in your arms
You’ve cradled me through hardships faced in life
Lord it’s just one of those days
I’ve been fought in every way
Will you hold me while I cry?

This held the picture together for me. The Lord gives and takes away, and He gets us through it all. He gives us life so we can give life to others. He gave us life so after this life is done we have the hope of heaven. He is patient when we tell Him we don’t understand His sovereign plan. He is kind when we grow angry with Him. He loves us when we detest His ways. He goes above and beyond what He should be, but the sweetest of all those things to me is that He holds us and holds the burdens we carry. He heals the broken pieces of our hearts when death is just the temporary end to the life on earth. He is so sovereign.

So today I’m thankful for a Lord that holds me while I cry. Who let’s me take His time. Today I’m thankful for life. Today I’m thankful for death. Today I’m thankful for a woman I never met because she started a family that gave me my best friend. I’m thankful for the 8th pew of a funeral home chapel and the life lessons the Lord teaches. I’m just really thankful.

Leave a Reply

