Day 703: Take the Step You See

Honest confession: tonight fear gripped ahold of me. Grabbed my heart and my future and squeezed the joy out of them. Sudden anxieties because I don’t have all the answers to where and when for the next season. I don’t know the who or even the how of what is to come. The newness of the year has worn off. Here to stay is the doubt of what is to come.
Thankfully, just mere hours ago, I sat in a LIFEgroup where we discussed the foolish Israelites and their inability to trust God to provide day to day.
Someone mentioned the verse “Your word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path.” Now, I learned this verse when I was just a daisy in Missionettes (RIP Missionettes), but it has followed me through life and the truth hadn’t changed. It doesn’t say it’s a spotlight or stadium lighting that’ll show us  the length of a football field ahead. It’s a lamp that illuminates its immediate surroundings. We can see where we just came from and a few steps ahead.
It doesn’t say it is an easy path. We just know it’s the path we’re called to walk in.

Truth is, I don’t know nothin’ about what comes next. I know the Lord has called me to honor Him with here. The way I stand on this part of the path and the motives I choose in moving forward. See, I don’t want to see the rest of the path. I don’t. Because I’ll miss the good I’m standing in here.
Friends, don’t miss the love, friendship, and joy meant for here and now. Here refines you for there. For the next thing. Stop trying to find answers for questions the Lord isn’t asking you yet.

Leave a comment